As part of the Huguenots of Spitalfields Festival, there are a series of daily walks for visitors to discover the history hidden by Spitalfields's streets and the Huguenots' lives.
Old Spitalfields Market, on Commercial Road, owes its name to the Priory of St. Mary Spital, a medieval hospital founded in 1197 in the time surrounded by fields.
At 56 and 58 Artillery Lane sit two shops which are an example of the most elegant Georgian designs. There were silk merchants' houses in the 18th century but entered a period of decay until granted Grade 1 listing in the 1960s. Nows it houses a contemporary art exhitbition centre named Raven Row.
The London Fruit and Wool Exchange (1929) will be soon demolished as part of the Spitalfields redevelopment plan approved by London Major Boris Johnson.
The Whites Row car park will soon be demolished as part of the Spitalfields redevelopment plan approved by London Major Boris Johnson. The current site is believed to have been the home of Jack the Ripper's victim Annie Millwood at the time she was attacked on 25th February 1888.
Christ church, on Fournier Street, was built to state the power of the Church of England after the arrival of French Protestant refugees to the Spitalfields area, the Huguenots.
A community of wealthy French Huguenots was installed in Spitalfields, bringing with them the finest silk-weaving skills from Nantes, Lyons and other cities.
A weaving bobbin hangs from a house facade in Fournier Street to mark the presence of Huguenots' silk weavers.
The London Jamme Masjid on Fournier Street. The building dates from 1743 as a Huguenot church. Afterwards, it has been a Christian centre, a Methodist chapel, an Orthodox synagogue until 1975 when became the Great Mosque.