Duke of Gloucester unveils Queen’s Jubilee insignia at Olympics Park

The Duke of Gloucester today unveiled a permanent landmark at the Olympics Park in east London for The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.

A impression of The Crown and ‘E II R’ insignia made up of 60 glass pavement markers has been installed on the Greenway as part of the Jubilee Walkway Trust’s 40-mile (60km) walking and cycling route linking east London with Buckingham Palace to mark the Queen’s 60-year reign—a kilometre for every year since she came to the Throne in 1952.

The Duke said: “It is wonderful that the Diamond Jubilee and London 2012 have come together to create a unique emblem on the edge of the Olympic Park that will be enjoyed for years to come.”

The Queen formally opened the Buckingham Palace end this-morning, followed by the Duke in east London this-afternoon opening the other end.

East London’s two-mile long Greenway route starts at West Ham Underground station and runs through Stratford, the Olympics Park, over the Lea River by Old Ford Lock to Victoria Park. It has been widened and improved by the Olympics authority working with Newham and Tower Hamlets local authorities and Thames Water, including resurfacing, with new signs, fencing and seating being installed and more access points opened.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter