10 candidates running for Tower Hamlets Mayor to replace deposed Lutfur Rahman

Battle for Tower Hamlets town hall

Battle for Tower Hamlets town hall - Credit: Archant

Ten candidates have put their hat in the ring to run for Mayor of Tower Hamlets in the re-run-election set for June 11 to replace deposed Lutfur Rahman.

The deadline for nominations for the controversial executive post—which controls Tower Hamlets’ £1.2 billion budget—closed last night.

It follows last year’s votes being declared void by the High Court last month which saw Rahman barred from office after a six-week election trial judgement ruled there had been malpractice, voting fraud and intimidation at polling stations.

The candidates this time include Labour’s John Biggs, the man defeated in the 2014 voting.

Biggs, re-elected only this week as the London Assembly’s budget chairman, faces competition from nine rivals.

They include anti-corruption campaigner Andy Erlam—who brought Rahman down in the High Court—and Rahman’s own protégé Rabina Khan, a front-bench member of what was the deposed mayor’s personal Town Hall cabinet, who stands as an independent.

The council’s Tory Opposition group leader Peter Golds is also in the running.

Most Read

So, too, is the Lib Dem’s defeated General Election candidate at Poplar & Limehouse ,Elaine Bagshaw, who came fifth.

Ukip is putting up another defeated candidate from the Poplar & Limehouse count, Nicholas McQueen, who came third.

The Greens are fielding John Foster, while Vanessa Hudson is running for Animal Welfare and Motiur Rahman Nanu is standing as an independent.

One ward, Stepney Green, is also holding a by-election for a Tower Hamlets councillor to replace Alibor Choudhury, who was also barred from office after the High Court judgement slapped him as Mayor Rahman’s “henchman” who did his ”dirty work”.

The seven-sided contest is between Labour, Conservative, Greens, Ukip, Lib Dem and two independents.


Full list of candidates for Tower Hamlets Mayor on June 11 are:

Elaine BAGSHAW (Liberal Democrats)

John BIGGS (Labour)

Andy ERLAM (Red Flag–Anti-Corruption)

John FOSTER (Green)

Peter GOLDS (Conservative)

Vanessa Helen HUDSON (Animal Welfare)

Hafiz Abdul KADIR (independent)

Rabina KHAN (independent)


Md Motiur RAHMAN NANU (independent)


Full list of candidates for a Stepney Green councillor on June 11 are:

Sabina AKHTAR (Labour)

Safiul AZAM (Conservative)

Kirsty CHESTNUTT (Green)

Abu Talha CHOWDHURY (independent)

Will DYER (Liberal Democrats)

Jessie MACNEIL-BROWN (Something New)