For the 172,500th time —‘vote in today’s London election’ urges Tower Hamlets council

Typical East End polling station in Brick Lane

Typical East End polling station in Brick Lane - Credit: Archant

Polling stations open from 7am today for the 172,500 registered votes in London’s East End to take part in the elections for London mayor and Assembly.

Typical East End polling station in Brick Lane

Typical East End polling station in Brick Lane - Credit: Archant

Tower Hamlets council has prepared 116 polling stations across the borough which remain open until 10pm this-evening.

Those on the Tower Hamlets electortal register could generate a possible 517,500 ballot papers.

The London Mayor controls police, housing, culture, economy, environment and transport.

“But the Assembly holds the Mayor to account on behalf of Londoners,” Greater London returning officer Jeff Jacobs points out. “Tower Hamlets voters have their say and not miss out.”

The race for control of London’s £17 billion budget has a record 12 candidates since the post of elected mayor was created in 2000:

Sian Berry (Green party)

Most Read

David Furness (BNP)

George Galloway (Respect)

Paul Golding (Britain First)

Zac Goldsmith (Conservative)

Lee Harris (Cannabis)

Sadiq Khan (Labour)

Ankit Love (One Love)

Caroline Pidgeon (Lib Dem)

Sophie Walker (Women’s Equality)

Peter Whittle (Ukip) and

Prince Zylinski (ind).

One of these dozen will be the electorates’ choice to replace Tory Boris Johnson, who steps down after eight years, having won two terms.

Boris decided not to go for a third term, his win in last year’s General Election to return to Parliament as an MP.

Voters have a second choice if no candidate gets an overall majority, with the ‘second preference’ option. The top two polled candidates would go head-to-head in a follow-up count where second preferences (if the candidate is one of the top two in the running) are then counted. This gives the final winner an outright majority, even by just one vote.

Another vote today is for London Assembly members including the City & East constituency which includes Tower Hamlets and neighbouring Newham.

The eight City & East candidates are:

Chris Chapman (Conservative)

Unmesh Desai (Labour)

Rachel Collinson (Green)

Elaine Bagshaw (Lib Dem)

Peter Harris (Ukip)

Mikail Rayne (Respect)

Aaron D’Souza (APP) and

Amina Gichinga (Take Back the City).

East London’s outgoing Assembly member was Labour’s John Biggs, after 16 years, who has stepped down this week after winning last year’s re-run election for Tower Hamlets Mayor.

All registered electors living in London aged 18 or over—British, Irish, Commonwealth and EU citizens—can vote today if registered.

Ballot papers for east London are being counted tomorrow at the ExCel centre in Beckton, with the results for Mayor and London-wide Assembly members to be dclared at City Hall.