Seven in the running to be Mayor of London on May 3

Seven candidates have been officially announced today who are running for Mayor of London for the next four years.

One would-be candidate has dropped out of the original eight who had declared themselves.

The Returning Officer this-morning confirmed the nominations in the order they’ll appear on the ballot paper on May 3:

� Siobhan Benita (independent)

� Carlos Cortiglia (BNP)

� Boris Johnson (Conservative)

� Jenny Jones (Green)

Most Read

� Ken Livingstone (Labour)

� Brian Paddick (Liberal Democrats)

� Lawrence Webb (UKIP Fresh Choice for London)

Boris is defending his corner for the Tories after trouncing Labour rival Ken last time by the narrowest of margins.

Ken is itching to grab back the powerbase he lost in 2008, having been Greater London’s first-ever elected mayor.

Ex-cop Brian Paddick is running for the Lib Dems after coming in third behind Boris and Ken last time, while London Assembly’s Jenny Jones is raising the Green Party flag.

The only independent non-party candidate is former teacher Femi Solola.

A second independent, civil servant Siobhan Benita, appears to have pulled out.

London Elects–the body that is running Mayor and London Assembly polls on May 3–has also announced the list of candidates for the 11 London-wide Assembly seats:

� British National Party

� Christian Peoples Alliance

� Conservative Party

� English Democrats

� Green Party

� Labour Party

� London Liberal Democrats

� National Front

� The House Party

� Trade Unionist & Socialist Coalition

� UK Independence Party

� Rathy Alagaratnam, independent

� Ijaz Hayat, independent

Greater London Returning Officer John Bennett said: “The winning candidates will be responsible for an annual budget of �14 billion, with issues from transport and policing to housing and the environment.

“It’s now up to the 5.8 million Londoners eligible to vote to make a decision on who will run the capital for the next four years.”

The candidates standing for the 14 Constituency seats on the Assembly are being announced by the relevant local Returning Officer.

Voters receive three ballot papers when they go to the polls, one for Mayor, one for the 11 London-wide Assembly seats and one for their local Constituency Assembly Member.