Tower Hamlets borders remain in London constituency shake-up

PUBLISHED: 12:00 13 September 2011

The borders of Tower Hamlets’ parliamentary constituencies will not change despite a planned shake up for the rest of London.

Bethnal Green and Bow, the seat currently held by Rushanara Ali, and Poplar and Limehouse, which Jim Fitzpatrick holds, will remain as they are in the 2013 plans.

In the capital overall, the number of constituencies will be reduced from 73 to 68.

Only four, including the two East End seats, will remain unchanged.

David Cameron vowed to reduce the number of MPs before the Tories took power last year.

As part of the shake-up, 31 constituencies will be axed across England, leaving 502.

The Boundary Commission for England today announced it is consulting over the plans.

It said the changes are being brought in to make sure each constituency has a similar number of registered electors – between 72,810 and 80,473.

Simon James, secretary to the commission, said: “Parliament has set clear rules on what we can and can’t do when it comes to developing our initial proposals – BCE was given clear principles.”

If you value what this gives you, please consider supporting our work. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the East London Advertiser