Juniors seal progress as Cavaliers crash out

Victoria Park Juniors cruised into the quarter-finals of the Victoria Park Community League Cup with a dominant six-wicket win over Tower Cavaliers


Victoria Park Juniors cruised into the quarter-finals of the Victoria Park Community League Cup with a dominant six-wicket win over Tower Cavaliers.

In a high-scoring clash, Cavaliers had appeared on course for a place in the last eight of the competition following an unbeaten half-century from skipper Steve Williams.

But Juniors openers Joe Fisher and Soyfur Rahman responded with a blistering opening stand as the Victoria Park club secured a thrilling triumph with 10 balls to spare.

You may also want to watch:

All-rounder Rahman had earlier dismissed Cavaliers batsman Ken Marshall, but Juniors struggled to make further inroads as Williams struck an unbeaten 50 in a respectable total of 146 for two.

Yet Juniors duo Fisher (51 not out) and Rahman (45) ensured the target was always within reach and Jamshaid Mirza hit an unbeaten 23 to see his side home.

Most Read

Juniors now face a daunting last-eight clash against six-time cup winners Sky, who brushed aside second-round opponents Tower Ravens in a 44-run triumph. Aleem Hussain smashed 52 not out for the Division One outfit, who are looking to bounce back from last year's quarter-final defeat by double winners Goodmayes.

Nozmul Hussain added 30 for Sky, whose total of 184 for five proved too much for their opponents as Ravens collapsed to 140 all out in reply.

Beaten semi-finalists 12 months ago, Contenders eased into the quarter-finals of this year's competition with a 135-run rout of Old Ranwellians.

Ranwellians, who had recorded their opening win of the season to reach the second round a week ago, made an impressive start as opening bowlers James Culley and Terence Ford both claimed a wicket in their first overs.

But Contenders trio Ahmed Farooq (50 not out), Dee Alexander (49) and Ambrose Jeffers (47 not out) hit back to bring up a total of 205 for six.

And Ranwellians collapsed to 70 all out in reply as two wickets apiece for Farooq and Mairajuddin Umer sealed a comprehensive win.

Contenders will face London Tigers in a mouthwatering quarter-final after another crushing victory saw Tigers advance to the last eight at the expense of Atlantic.

The fearsome attack of Shahriar Mahmud, Syful Islam, Ruhel Ahmed and Saiful Khan each took a wicket as Tigers dismissed Atlantic for just 86, while Khaled Ahmed top-scored with 33 in reply to seal a six-wicket win.

Caledonian Conquerors, who crashed out in the semi-finals last year, remain on course to go one better in this year's competition after a breathtaking two-wicket win over Pacific.

Conquerors made an ideal start as Pacific opener Lucias Faisal was run out cheaply, but fellow opener Darren Tempany responded with a brave effort to anchor the innings with an unbeaten 70 - the highest individual score in this year's tournament.

Yet Tempany received little support from his colleagues as Waqar Ali (two for 36) and Rick Davies (two for 27) helped restrict Pacific to 135 for six.

Conquerors were on course for a comfortable win after a quick start from Mohammed Faisal (30), but Pacific's Lucias Faisal struck twice to spark a Caledonian collapse and only Mohamed Shakoor's resilient 41 ensured that Conquerors reached the target with five balls to spare.

Tuffnell Parkians will face Caledonian Conquerors in the last eight after shrugging off their poor league form to overcome fellow Division Four outfit Chats Palace.

Palace were in early trouble after Billy Wilson claimed three wickets for Tuffnell Parkians, but Rory Okker came to the rescue with an unbeaten 59 to take Palace to 109 all out.

Yet openers Dominic Stabb (51 not out) and Mungo Benson (37 not out) made swift work of the run-chase as Parkians secured a six-wicket win with six overs remaining.

The Ducks progressed to the quarter-finals with a blistering assault against Old Fallopians, smashing a phenomenal 272 for 1 off 16 overs in a 143-run rout.

Ahmad Farooq (50 not out), Husnain Abbas (52 not out), Hanif (52 not out) and Sibet Hussain (51 not out) each recorded unbeaten half-centuries as the Ducks scored at a rate of 17 an over.

Simon Hemelryck top-scored with 43 in his side's reply and AK Southey added 35, but Fallopians were held to 129 for four as the Ducks advanced.

Island Community complete the quarter-final line-up following a seven-wicket defeat of London Wanderers.

Big hitting from Rob Morgan (50 not out) saw Wanderers make a decent start, but Jack Stollery took two for 31 to restrict the total to 160 for three.

And Island reached the target without losing a wicket as Tanjeem Chowdhury (51 not out), Kirk Flemming (54 not out) and Rob Jones (37 not out) sealed a convincing win.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus