Whitechapel’s Weavers win Sonali Othith Masters title

Whitechapel-based Weavers celebrate winning the Sonali Othith Masters competition

Whitechapel-based Weavers celebrate winning the Sonali Othith Masters competition - Credit: Archant

Keeper shines in penalty shoot-out success

Whitechapel-based Weavers came out on top at the 2017 Sonali Othith Masters tournament.

A total of 24 teams took part, including the likes of east London’s Shadwell, Bromley, Newark, BYM, FC Workhouse and CAG, as well as national-based teams such as Milton Keynes Galacticos, Herts United, Leeds, Birmingham, Oldham, Camden, and Bedford.

And many of the pre-tournament favourites, including last year’s winners Golden Moon, were eliminated in the first round.

Weavers met Beaumont FC in the final which ended 0-0 and went to a penalty shootout during which Weavers goalkeeper Russell Rahman pulled off three outstanding saves.

You may also want to watch:

It was the only match in which Weavers failed to score as the ILFL Winter League leaders were worthy winners.

Talisman Atiqur Rahman, who broke his arm last November, played a captain’s role throughout as he expertly marshalled the defence to provide the foundation for success.

Most Read

He said: “It’s a wonderful feeling to be crowned champions. The quality levels were excellent and there were many great teams out in force. We stuck to our game plan and let our football do the talking.”

Joint manager Shirajul Islam added: “We are beyond proud with our success. We are a family here at Weavers and this is reflected in the way we close down, fight and attack as a unit. I’m so proud of my team.”

Sonali Othith chairman Jamal Uddin congratulated the champions on their success, adding: “Despite a gloomy weather forecast it turned out to be a very nice day.

“The whole tournament was played with great spirit and congratulations go to Weavers on their well earned cup success. Commiserations go to Beaumont – it’s heartbreaking to lose a penalty shoot-out.”

Joynal Abdin, Sonali Othith secretary, said: “I would like to thank all the participating teams for their discipline and professionalism. A special thanks is reserved to those who came all the way from the North of England. Their passion for the sport is beyond belief.”

Weavers: Atiqur Rahman, Abdul Monaf, Abdul Hakim, Jamal Ahmed, Russel Rahman, Arshadur Rahman, Syrazul Islam, Shipon Miah, Ali Muktar, Liton Miah, Fishnik Sojiva, Paulo Augusto, Jahed Uddin, Akil Miah, Abdul Mukith, Abdul Salem.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus